>About the numbers

>Went to the doc this week for a follow-up chat about my annual blood testing.  The word is, my cholesterol is just a bit high, and has been for a few years now.  However, a closer look at the most recent test shows that my HDL’s (good cholesterol) are really high, 83.  That’s 20 points higher than 5 years ago . . . and way above the recommended 40.   Since all the cholesterol numbers are added together – the good and the bad – mine is considered healthy.

Today I donated blood.  The tech who tested to be sure there was enough hemoglobin (Hb) commented on my Hb number – as in, “Oh, wow, that’s really good!”.  And, my blood pressure was 102/60 – nice and low.  Did I mention, I’m in my mid-50’s and not taking any prescription meds at all?

Some of this may be due to all the exercise the last few years, or just good genes.  Maybe.  I don’t have copies of all the cholesterol tests, but two in the last 5 years had my HDL at 64 and 62.  Now it’s 83, markedly better.  And I know my blood pressure even a year ago was more like 120-something/70-something.  Today’s numbers were exactly the same as at the doctor’s office on Tuesday – 102/60.  Markedly better.

So what is new during the last year that would make such a big difference?  Last year I was running, on average, 25 miles a week.  I’ve run very little since late August because of the neuroma in my foot.  Really little – less than 25 miles total in the last 3 months.  My weight has gone up about 5 pounds since I’m not running the calories off. 

I’m not trying to make a case for getting less exercise and gaining weight!  That’s not what I think made me healthier.  I started using Beachbody’s Shakeology product in August.  Every day – one scoop a day, mixed in milk or water, 140 calories (with water), TONS of nutrition.  Most days I drink a shake at breakfast because it is quick.  I used to skip breakfast, or eat something like a protein bar and a cup of tea.  Now I have plenty of energy to get through the first part of the day, along with all the other health benefits of Shakeology!

Check out this video for more info.  The first minute or so gets to some information about what Shakeology does for cholesterol levels, but I thought the whole video was interesting.  Let me know what you think!

http://teambeachbody.com/watch/products/shakeology

Leave a Reply

