>Back with the rhythm!

>Are you ready to start moving again?  Yeah, let’s go!  My running tribe pulled me back into a training group yesterday for a 5-mile run.  We did not exactly run – we walked 5 minutes, then ran one minute, and repeated for 5 miles.  It felt so great to just move!  Bodies were not made to sit on couches, behind desks, and in cars for most of the day.  We are made to walk, and to run, and to otherwise move around.

Tonight after work, I put in a DVD that a friend loaned me called TurboJam.  It’s a Beachbody product; I am a Beachbody coach.  Seemed like I should try it out.  Wow!  There is a lot of punching and kicking and it was a blast!  I’m pretty clumsy and felt like I was not quite following all the moves, but I will definitely do that one many more times.

I always notice that working out more makes my diet better.  Junk food, greasy food, anything very heavy just does not sound as yummy right after a workout.  I was reaching for fruit and water after the Turbo Jam workout, not ice cream or cookies.  This is much better.  The exercising helps with the diet behavior – and the diet is always the harder part for me to stick with.

Here’s the challenge for January:  Let’s lose 5 pounds.  We have 5 weeks.  That’s only one pound a week.  We can exercise for 250 calories each day – that’s 2.5 miles of walking, or maybe 45 minutes of vacuuming, 20 minutes of shoveling snow, something like that.  Then let’s cut 250 calories of junk out of the diet each day too – that’s a 20-ounce Coke, or a grande latte at Starbucks, or a half-cup of Ben & Jerry’s.  The combination is 500 calories a day, times 7 days is 3500 calories – voila, one pound is off your body!

You know you can do this.  The question is:  Will you?  I am doing it!  Get on that scale first thing in the morning for your starting weight.  Write it down and stick it on the bathroom mirror; you don’t have to tell me what it is.  Then let’s do it!  I am here to help you get to the next smaller number.  One day, one week at a time.  One pound at a time.  More to follow –

Gail

Leave a Reply

