Don’t Let The Fat Follow You Home!

alain's salad

There is one rule of healthy eating that I have to learn over and over and OVER because I still break it.  The rule:  If it is not good for you, do not bring it home from the store.

With some items, this is easy.  Potato chips?  Not interested, I can skip the whole aisle and it does not break my heart a bit.  Frozen pizza?  Easy!  Eating anything with gluten in it leaves me feeling lousy for days, so it is no longer tempting.  Ditto with all those boxes of crackers, cereal, Pop-Tarts, and cookies.  I can just walk on by.

So, what DOES try to follow me home from the supermarket?  Ice cream – especially the gooey flavors, like Ben & Jerry’s Karamel Sutra.  Oh yes, I know that one too well.  Chocolate – the good stuff, not just the Snickers and M&M’s.  Cheeses – Brie, Camembert, chevre, smokey Gouda, Comté, feta, yummmm.  And sausage – Italian for the (gluten-free) pasta, brats for the grill, salami, and all the smoky cousins like capicolla and prosciutto.

At the end of the day, or even at lunchtime, if it is not in the house I probably will not eat it.  So, fill up that cart as if a personal trainer were watching!  Best of health to you!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Michael Fox said,

    I’m the chip guy. I still have a 6 pack in my mid thirties and I eat clean, but those things call my name every week!

  2. 2

    Tim Demers said,

    Great suggestion: if it’s not at home, there’s no temptation!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

