Exercise For Us Non-Athletic Types

Yesterday I did the first workout of the ChaLEAN Extreme program.  Just so you know a bit of my background, let me say:  I have no discernible athletic ability.  None.  I started running as exercise because even I can put one foot in front of the other without falling down (at least, not falling often). 

Back in the ’80’s, I did aerobics classes – and was always going to the right when we were supposed to go left.  It was embarrassing.  Worse, it was potentially dangerous!  I could have grape-vined right across some unsuspecting fellow workout buddy’s feet and landed both of us on our derrieres.

Then there were step classes.  The step platform was what, 8″ high?  I still almost fell off the edge of the thing quite regularly.  Other fitness trends came and went.  I passed on spin class (I’d have gone flying over the stationary handlebars, no doubt about it), and also declined to try belly dancing (seriously?  Don’t body parts jiggle right off?).  I did learn how to play golf, though.  It took me a long time to get the hang of it.  At one point, I hit a squirrel.  He survived; he ran off into the bushes with several of his outraged squirrel-buddies right behind him.  I was afraid to go back to that course for fear they would retaliate.

Now I run.  I run and walk at the very back of the pack, slow but steady.  I have time to enjoy the view, say thank you to the volunteers, and encourage runners around me that they can do it.  After all, if I can finish, anyone can.  If I can do it, YOU can do it.  Walking, with maybe a little running mixed in, is not complicated.  We learned to do it as small children.  It is an absolutely great way to start getting in shape.

ChaLEAN Extreme workouts are the next step, at least for me.  Walking and running are great for the heart, lungs, and legs, but I was noticing my upper body is not strong.  Carrying groceries, picking up a small child that wants to be held or rocked, moving furniture around in a room – all of these were getting harder to do.  And running alone was not keeping my weight where it needs to be.

ChaLEAN is not complicated.  The exercises are simple enough for a klutz like me to do.  Since I’m working out at home, I don’t have to worry about clobbering the person next to me.  And gradually, slowly, I will be stronger.  OH!  And muscle burns fat, as Chalene says, so I will also gradually slim down.  I’ll post results weekly, so we can all see the progress being made!

Leave a Reply

