Day 21 – Best Brussels Sprouts Recipe Ever

IMG_2557

My mom was not a very inspired cook (sorry, Mom). Vegetables mostly came from a can, or from a bag in the freezer. Spinach translated into my young mind as black slime – and I still cringe at the sight of a can of the stuff.

Now that I am allegedly a grown-up, I get to revisit some of the foods I detested as a child and decide if they really are awful or not.  After all, I learned to love spinach – fresh spinach, raw or sauteed, with sesame oil or fresh garlic, or sauteed with a couple of eggs and topped with a little goat cheese for a quick lunch.

On to the subject of Brussels sprouts.  I don’t remember these at all from my childhood, so there is no bad association to be overcome.  I have eaten them at various times over the years, and was never particularly passionate about them in either a positive or negative sense.  Didn’t love them; didn’t hate them.  It’s time to revisit them and see if we can become friends.

I bought a stalkful of the little guys at the local produce market, still all connected to their mother ship, and wondered how to cook them this time.  What did we ever do before there was the Internet to learn these things?  The web produced a plethora of ways to prepare the BS (Brussels sprouts), most of which sounded really good.  The one I made, though, produced by far the most excellent BS I’ve ever tried.

Yes, of course I will share the recipe with you!  Here it is the way I made it, and the link to the original is at the bottom of this post:

1 lb fresh Brussels sprouts, trimmed and quartered
1/2 of a medium to large apple (I used a Gala apple, but use what you have), diced – peel it if you want, but I left the peel on the apple
2 Tbsp. apple juice or cider
1 Tbps. olive oil

1 tsp. thyme, or up to 1 Tbsp if using fresh  (the thyme I used came from a neighbor’s garden, dried but not commercially prepared, so I used about 2 tsps.)
1/2 tsp. Mediterranean sea salt (or 1/4 tsp. regular table salt)
1/4 tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Put the Brussels sprouts and the diced apple in a 13 x 9 size baking pan.  Add the apple cider, olive oil, and seasonings.  Use a spatula to toss it all together.  (You could also put everything into a big zip-lock bag, give it a good shake, and then pour it into the pan.)  Bake at 375 degrees for about 25 minutes, until the sprouts are tender and just starting to brown.

We ate them just the way they came out of the oven.  They were delicious, and not at all bitter.  Apparently the tartness of the apple mellows out that bitter taste you can get with sprouts.  They would also taste great with a little sprinkle of Parmesan cheese, I think – but I have not tried that yet.

If you still harbor bad memories of Brussels sprouts from your childhood, this would be a great recipe for you to use to try them anew.  I, for one, will have to stop calling my new friends “BS”.  I’ll be cooking them again soon!

Original source for recipe:  http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/roasted-brussels-sprouts-apples-10000001932673/

 

 

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    pinparent said,

    I love brussels sprouts. I will roast a full bag & end up eating the whole thing by myself. Not always the best idea but I can’t stop once I start eating them.

  2. 5

    angelllla24 said,

    Not gonna lie, brussel sprouts make me nervous but this looks great, thanks!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

