Day 26 – Gluten-Free! Pumpkin Custard

I’ve found the perfect Thanksgiving Day dessert! There’s no crust, and with no crust there is no gluten. It reads almost the same as the classic pie recipe on the back of a can of Libby’s pumpkin. Bonus for us, it makes 4 servings. I love pumpkin pie for breakfast, but it does not love me back – so not having leftover pie in the fridge keeps me from eating it. Here’s the link to the recipe:

Pumpkin Custard – Easier than Pie and No Crust!

I’ll be making it with one cup of evaporated milk instead of the half-and-half, since it’s what I already have in the house. And, I will be skipping the topping. It is probably delicious, but I can do without the extra sugar and butter. After all, I would never put a topping like that on a pie. Just a little whipped topping, and I’m good to go.

This is the picture from the same webpage as the recipe. Now, imagine it without the nuts and crispy sugar topping (but keep the whipped cream and a sprinkle of cinnamon over the top). Imagine how your house smells when this is coming out of the oven. Can you imagine serving this to your family? I thought you could, it looks like a perfect finish to a holiday meal. Enjoy!

pumpkin custard

Leave a Reply

