Reaching Your Goals, One Week at a Time

How are you doing with your New Year’s resolutions? I have to admit, I don’t even remember making any. So, apparently I am not doing so well with mine either.

All is not lost!  Perhaps you will join me in a slight variation on this annual theme. A friend sent me an e-mail message about her “New Year’s resolution . . . for this week”. Brilliance! A year is far too long to stay focused on one or two goals for most of us anyway. What about creating a new goal every week, and getting to the big goal for the year by taking one step at a time?

I’ve heard that Benjamin Franklin focused on one of his core values, or virtues, each month, then moved on to the next one for the next month. He did that for most of his life, just keeping himself focused on the values that were most important to him. It seems to have worked out pretty well – after all, we still know who he was and some of his many accomplishments more than 200 years after his death.

What do you want to accomplish in 2014? And once you know that, what small chunk of your goal can be done in one week? For a goal to lose 50 pounds, for example, this is easy to figure out – aim to lose at least one pound a week. Other goals may be more complicated, but slicing a big goal into manageable chunks is a great strategy.

I’ll be starting my first week’s goal on Monday. The first week will be about nutrition for me, making better food choices, so that gives me the weekend to plan some meals and get the kitchen stocked for success. Plus, Monday is the best day to start on a goal. Also, I am a natural-born procrastinator. But Monday? Yes, I will be starting this goal on Monday for sure.

How about you, are you in? What can you do for one week that will make a difference in your life? Dream big and let’s make it happen!

IMG_1204

For more information on the values that Franklin lived by, click here.

Leave a Reply

